Coursework · Part 3

Project: Commercial portrait photography- A studio portrait

I do a lot of studio portraiture as part of my photography business and I love to play around with lighting on the white backdrop, however for this project I thought it would be better if I stepped out of my comfort zone and used the black backdrop.

I used an 18mm lens for the first three pictures:

The first picture I used 1 light with a soft box, I placed this light on the right hand side of myself and I feathered the light away from the black backdrop so that I can keep the backdrop as black. This did mean I had a dark shadow on the left hand side on my face.

The second image I used three lights, one to my right feathered away from the backdrop, one to the left pointing straight at me and then one above me to light my hair up. The other two lights did not have any snoots or soft boxes on which I think would have helped keep the light away from the backdrop.

The third image I used two lights, one to my right feathered away from the backdrop and one the left pointing straight at me. This second light did not have a soft box or snoot on it so the light has spilled on the backdrop which doesn’t look very appealing.

For the second set of images I used a focal length of 28mm so you can see more of the lighting effects and I have also introduced a light reflector to the shots.

The first image had three lights, one to the right with a soft box feathered away from the backdrop, one to the left pointing straight at me with no soft box or snoot as a fill in light and then one above me pointing down as a hair light with no soft box or snoot.

The second image had two lights, one to the right with a soft box feathered away from the backdrop as my key light and then one to the left of me as a fill in light with no snoot or soft box.

The third image had one light with a soft box feathered away from the backdrop as a key light.

The fourth image had one light with a soft box feathered away from the backdrop as a key light and a light reflector to the left to bounce the light onto the other side of my face to get rid of the shadow on the left hand side of my face.

My lighting set ups:

1,2,3 lights and light reflector.

 

Leave a Reply

