Coursework · Part 3

Project: The basics of portraiture – Outdoor portriats

I used the same setting for all of my pictures to see the results clearer.

Model looking into the sun:

Need less shutter speed for sky as the light is full on. But my model was squinting, and the light was very harsh on the skin and showed up everything. The sky however wasn’t blown out which can add something to the picture.HRF_9624

Model looking away from the sun:

Needed a higher shutter speed for the sky and it is blown out, however I could have lowered the shutter speed more so that my model was brighter. With no reflector there is a lot of shadow and you can’t really see my model very well.  The light is softer on the skin.

HRF_9625

Model looking away from the sun with white reflector:

The white reflector adds natural colour back onto my model making it look more natural however this does not help with blow out sky. It does help with the lighting on my model making her clearer to see. The light is softer on the skin.

HRF_9626

Model looking away from the sun with a gold reflector:

The gold reflector looks really odd at times. It helps to add a bit of colour/tan to my model but sometimes it can be overdone, this is one of those occasions where it looks over done but it does brighten my model up. The light is harsher on the skin.

HRF_9627

Leave a Reply

